"24 Hours" - Jones, Tom


U2 Related Content:

Full Track Listing

  • I’m Alive
  • If He Should Ever Leave You
  • We Got Love
  • Give A Little Love
  • The Road
  • In Style and Rhythm
  • Sugar Daddy
  • Seasons
  • Never
  • The Hitter
  • Seen That Face
  • 24 Hours
  • More Than Memories

Background Information

This 2008 album by Tom Jones features a track called “Sugar Daddy” written by Bono, The Edge, and Simon Carmody. The song also features performances by Bono and the Edge, Bono performing on “Slasher Guitar” and The Edge being listed on Guitar.

The song had its beginnings when Jones joined Bono in a pub in Dublin. Jones asked for Bono to write him a song and Bono said he would, but that it would be about Jones. Bono spoke to Jones at that meeting about seeing him perform as a kid on TV, and the interest Bono had in the performance and how Jones dressed. A little while later, they would meet in another club, this time in London, and Bono unveiled the song he had put together with Carmody and The Edge. Much of the information that had been discussed in Dublin ended up in the song. Jones relates, “Well, do I get writer credit?’ “He said, ‘No.’ He didn’t even think about it.”

Jones was worried that it might sound like he was boasting in the lyrics. “I said, ‘Is that what you think of me?‘” Jones said. “Bono said, ‘I just like the sound of sugar daddy.‘” Jones also relates, “When I first heard it, I said, ‘I hope it [doesn’t] come across [like I’m] blowing my own trumpet.’ And Bono said, ‘Well, you’re the only guy that’s got balls enough to sing this thing.’ So, I said OK.”

Simon Carmody who helps co-write the song, is a longtime, childhood friend of Bono’s and was the former front man for the band The Golden Hoard, who were once signed to U2’s Mother Records.

Liner Notes

Sugar Daddy:
Written by Bono, The Edge, Simon Carmody. Co-Produced by Nellee Hooper and Future Cut. Scott Elgin: Vocal Engineer. Additional recording by Declan Gaffney, Simon Gogerly and Aidan Love. Recorded at Paramount Studios, Los Angeles, Califormia, Home Recording Studios, and The Sample Factory, London, England. Mixed at The Samplefactory, London, England by Future Cut. The Edge: Guitar. Bono – Slasher Guitar. Paul Farr – Guitar. Alex Bonafanti – Bass. Darren Lewis – Keyboards, Programming and Arrangement. Iyiola Babalola – Synths, Programming and Arrangement.

Related Promotional Videos

Related News

Catalog of Releases