Edge’s Innocence and Experience Playlist

Original Story by Aaron J. Sams (2016-06-17)

Today to celebrate U2’s Innocence and Experience home video release, The Edge hand selected a number of songs representing both Innocence and Experience on Apple Music.

The songs are split into two sections, one Innocence, consisting of tracks from much earlier in U2’s career. And the second section titled Experience, consisting of more recent tracks.

The full list of tracks is as follows:


  • Sweet Jane – The Velvet Underground
  • Sheena Is A Punk Rocker – Ramones
  • Kashmir – Led Zeppelin
  • Rebel Rebel – David Bowie
  • Rock the Casbah – The Clash
  • Another Girl, Another Planet – The Only Ones
  • 12 xu – wire
  • Glory – Patti Smith
  • No Woman, No Cry – Bob Marley & The Wailers
  • Fiction Romance – Buzzcocks
  • Elevation – Television
  • Dream Baby Dream – Suicide


  • Seasons (Waiting On You) – Future Islands
  • I Can’t Give Everything Away – David Bowie
  • Burn The Witch – Radiohead
  • Hard Time – Seinabo Sey
  • My Number – Foals
  • Grounds For Divorce – Elbow
  • Black Skinhead – Kanye West
  • We Exist – Arcade Fire
  • Slow – Leonard Cohen
  • Breathe Life – Jack Garratt
  • Black Man in a White World – Michael Kiwa Nuka
  • Ballad of the Mighty I – Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds

There is a brief introduction to the songs listed on Apple Music:

To celebrate U2’s iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE tour film, the band’s iconic guitarist The Edge presents a playlist of tracks that represent both themes to him. The Edge’s church is broad: Patti Smith (“Patti changed my world with ‘Horses,’ and made me not only wanna be in a band but read poetry”), Radiohead (“Burn the Witch” makes music ‘vital’ again), The Ramones (“they gave us the keys to the car…all ya needed was two chords and a guitar”), Seinabo Sey (“West Africa meets Swedish cool”), David Bowie (“A world without David Bowie. I can’t even go there…”), Future Islands (”‘Seasons’ is the only song where anyone in the world can look good on the dance floor”), and many more.

The image below is part of the playlist site:

< Next News Entry | Previous News Entry >

u2songs.com was formerly known as u2wanderer.org. Follow us on Twitter | Facebook